Tags

, ,

melanie44

Today is a big day! Olivia de Havilland is celebrating her 100th birth anniversary! She is the only survivor of GWTW and the last major Hollywood star still alive. She lived in the Golden Era of Hollywood and she is still around to see the tumultuous times of the contemporary world. Olivia was born 100 years ago during WWI. She lived the best years of her life in the middle of WWII and later she came to see the horrors of terrorism all over the Earth. She has been living for decades in Paris and I always wonder how she felt when her beloved Paris was attacked by the terrorists. Nobody would have thought that incident could be possible.

But enough with this kind of stories. My blog is dedicated to the world of films and I will resume now to my discussion of Olivia’s career. Here is a list of my top 5 favourite Olivia films. These are:

  1. Gone With the Wind (1939)
  2. Hold Back the Dawn (1941)
  3. To Each His Own (1946)
  4. The Adventures of Robin Hood (1938)
  5. In This Our Life (1942)

Olivia earned 2 Oscars, for To Each His Own (1946) and The Heiress (1949). She was a magnificent actress, a very beautiful lady, with a strong personality and possessing a remarkable philosophy of life. This is what made her live for a century, and I hope we will continue to celebrate her in the years to come. Olivia is a great survivor and deserves our respect and deep appreciation not just for her impressive film career, but for everything that she has done over the years. Every individual is different and unique, but Olivia is a truly special human being and I am very happy to have worshiped her for over 13 years. I wish I knew her personally!

The first film I ever saw with her was The Swarm (1978). I was a child at that time and even if it isn’t considered a very good production, I remember that I enjoyed it. But the first film that made me become a fan of Olivia was GONE WITH THE WIND. She will always be the perfect Melanie. She is just as irreplaceable as Vivien Leigh is in the role of Scarlett.

Of course, over the years I managed to get most of Olivia’s motion pictures. I also have all her films with Errol Flynn. They were Hollywood’s golden couple of the 1930s and early 1940s and I am sure the magic between them will last for ever.

Happy Birthday, dear Olivia!

