Tags

, , , ,

Jean Arthur, Charles Boyer, History Is Made at Night (1937)

This film impressed me so much from the very first time I watched it! I find it breathtakingly beautiful and romantic — even if at times it seemed to me much too optimistic. “History Is Made at Night” is a combination between “Casablanca”, “An Affair to Remember” and “Titanic”. It woulnd’t surprise me at all if the directors of those respective films were inspired by this superb production starring Charles Boyer, Jean Arthur and Colin Clive. The plot is so complex and unpredictable, and there are so many twists and turns in the script, that one could hardly stay calm while watching the film.”History Is Made at Night” was highly successful, even if it wasn’t even nominated to an Oscar – and I can’t understand why, because the screenplay was excellent and quite inspiring to other productions over the years. Charles Boyer and Jean Arthur are perfect together, and I think they make one of the loveliest cinema couples of the 1930s. This is trully a romantic drama, and that is why you will get to see a love triangle between an extremely possessive and wealthy ex-husband, a beautiful model and a headwaiter (despite the fact that Boyer seems to me too aristocratic to be just a waiter). It surprised me a little the choice of Colin Clive in the role of the jealous and passionate husband. Even if he was effective, Clive is best-known for his roles in horror films, like “Frankenstein”. This was also one of his last motion pictures, before he died from pneumonia in 1937, at the age of 37. Clive was a great loss to the American cinema, and his face and acting reminded me of Paul Muni. But returning to the present film, I would say that “History Is Made at Night” combines so swiftly different genres, from romance to comedy and drama. You will be having a very emotional time while watching it, and you will find it very similar to “Titanic”, not just because of the characters, but also because of the scenes in the last 20 minutes of the film. Still, I will reveal to you only the fact that it will be a happy ending, even if, I must admit, I would have preferred a realistic ending, just like in “Casablanca” or “The Journey”. 

